Weather Alert

No. 5 Tech drops Friday night affair to Oklahoma

LUBBOCK, Texas – No. 5 Texas Tech fell 9-6 on Friday night to Oklahoma at Rip Griffin Park. The loss clinches the series for the Sooners and eliminates the Red Raiders from contention of winning a Big 12 regular season title.

The Sooners’ offense started where it left on Thursday night from the first at-bat in game two, knocking a double that jump-started a three-run first inning to give Tech an early deficit. Five of the first six Oklahoma batters reached base, picking up four hits, including the seventh home run of the series against the Red Raiders.

Oklahoma scored at least one run over the first five innings to build a 9-2 lead, a lead that the Red Raiders could not overcome despite fighting back in the latter innings. Tech’s starter Brandon Birdsell surrendered a season-high six earned runs in four innings of work while Derek Bridges allowed a season-high three earned runs in one inning of work in the fifth. Helping build those runs were Oklahoma’s leadoff batters reaching base in four of those five innings and scoring each time.

Brandon Beckel shined in his outing for the Red Raiders, shutting down the Sooners’ offense facing the minimum over the sixth, seventh and eighth innings. It was a career-long outing while allowing just one hit and keeping Oklahoma off the scoreboard.

Texas Tech scored three in the sixth and one more in the seventh while Beckel was dealing to bring the game within three, 9-6. It was in the eighth inning the Sooners inserted their closer Trevin Michael who worked a perfect eighth and allowed one hit in the ninth to earn his eighth save.

Kurt Wilson led Tech with three hits, going 3-for-5, while Cole Stilwell and Ty Coleman each had a pair. Stilwell extended his team-leading hitting streak to 12 games while Coleman extended his team-leading on-base streak to 19 games.

Up Next
Texas Tech and Oklahoma conclude its series at 2 p.m. on Saturday. The senior class of Colin Clark, Parker Kelly, Cody Masters, Easton Murrell, Cooper Swanson and Kurt Wilson will be recognized prior to the game.


Connect With Us Listen To Us On